Sunday, August 16, 2009

Rossied Again!

"He's (Lorenzo) been Rossied again!"

That's how commentator Nick Harris put it and a more apt description of the race at Brno you will not find. Rossi got out to a lead from the start, with Dani Pedrosa inserting himself between The Doctor and his Fiat Yamaha teammate Jorge Lorenzo. Lorenzo finally got ahead of Pedrosa about a four laps in and set off in pursuit. What a pursuit it was! Lorenzo and Rossi swapped fast race laps, seemingly at will until Lorenzo got ahead with about 6 laps to go. On the next lap Rossi went for the lead and Lorenzo, ever Por Fuero, tried to return the favor on the outside, lost the front and probably his shot at the 2009 world championship. A lonely Dani Pedrosa held on to second and Toni Elias dispatched Andrea Dovisioso for the last step on the box. Hard to believe there isn't a spot in MotoGP for the tiger. This round of the much touted "Battle for the Factory Ducati Ride" went to Nicky Hayden who put in a solid performance to come in 6th. New team mate Mika Kallio binned his second Desmosedici of the weekend on the penultimate lap when he ran into the back of Marco Melandri after Melandri passed the Finn cleanly. Rossi's victory puts him 50 points ahead of Lorenzo in the title chase.

Brno MotoGP

1. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 43min 8.991 sec
2. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 43min 20.757 sec
3. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini 43min 29.747 sec
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 43min 30.409 sec
5. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 43min 30.529 sec
6. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 43min 34.535 sec
7. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 43min 34.667 sec
8. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini 43min 43.100 sec
9. James Toseland GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 43min 44.608 sec
10. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 43min 48.815 sec
11. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 43min 49.767 sec
12. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pramac Racing 43min 59.652 sec
13. Gabor Talmacsi HUN Scot Racing Team MotoGP 44min 8.179 sec

Michel Fabrizio ITA Pramac Racing
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team
Mika Kallio FIN Ducati Marlboro Team
Marco Melandri ITA Hayate Racing Team

No comments:

Post a Comment